Five Minute Friday – Unexpected

Standard

Ok, here we go again…

On Fridays around these parts we stop, drop, and write.

For fun, for love of the sound of words, for play, for delight, for joy and celebration at the art of communication.

For only five short, bold, beautiful minutes. Unscripted and unedited. We just write without worrying if it’s just right or not.  – The Gypsy Mama

Unexpected

I am not surprised by much in life.  I have had the eyes to perceive much of my life before it hit but it STILL strikes me as unexpected that I have ended up in Latin America.  It is unexpected for a girl who was born with the blood of the great wild north coursing her veins.  It is unexpected for a girl who fell in love with Europe and studied Swedish.

Did I expect to fall in love with this little mountain?  The windy Decembers, the view of the city below, the steady consistent rhythm to the days weeks and years here? Did I see the thinning of my blood coming?  What about my spanish-speaking, Tico children who would choose rice and beans over a midwestern casserole any day of the week?

I have to say, my life has thusfar been an adventure but this current destination was, overall, an unexpected one.  Everyday is a new step down the path though and this path I am on holds wonders that catch in my chest and make me hold my breath.

So, I am grateful today for the unexpected… because it’s the places we don’t expect that usually become the most beautiful destinations of our journey.

********

See you for five minutes next Friday,

The Epistolarian

11 responses »

  1. What a beautiful post.

    “So, I am grateful today for the unexpected… because it’s the places we don’t expect that usually become the most beautiful destinations of our journey.”

    I totally agree with you!

  2. I love this! My life has taken me to some unexpected places, too, and they end up being so sweet. I love the picture of your life that comes through in just these five minutes of writing.

Comment! Please, please, please?...

