Five Minute Friday – Roar

Standard

The first Friday of the new year.

Let’s do it. Let’s just write without worrying if it’s just right or not.

For only five short, bold, beautiful minutes. Let your mind and your words and your heart fly free; wild – no editing, no over thinking.

Roar

Ooh, watch out for Mom… steer clear! It’s what my kids would be saying if they were a wee bit older and a wee bit wiser and a wee bit more concerned with self preservation. *wink*  But, they are not older or wiser and it has never even crossed their minds that they might need to protect themselves from mom… and i’m so grateful.  However… RROOOOOOAAARRR!  

Evie has been roaring since she woke in the wee hours (wee meaning 4).  She roars when I walk away from her, she roars when I pick her up, she roars when she wants food, she roars when I inevitably hand her the wrong food, she roars when she remembers “oh yeah, darnit, I was MAD before that movie distracted me!”

John has been roaring like the motor of a race car for the greater part of the last two weeks.  That’s all I have to say about that. *sigh*

Roaring, it seems, comes naturally.  I am overtaken with the overwhelming urge to roar with very mild provocation these days.  But to be honest, I don’t like to roar.  I don’t find it empowering, I find it to be an enslaving act when I do it.  

So, here’s to the quiet purr of love, peace, gentleness, kindness, goodness, patience, self control… (you get the idea.)  May the purr of contentment in the new mercies of today be the sound to drown out the roaring in my head.

**********

What makes you roar loudest?

The Epistolarian

5 responses »

  1. Roaring is enslaving…that’s truth if I’ve ever heard it. It really is. It means that we’ve let something cause us to lose our cool, that something got under our skin, something stole away our peace. I’ve got to remember that one! Blessings ~ J

Comment! Please, please, please?...

