Raindrops on Roses and Whiskers on Kittens…

Standard

Dearest Sister of my Heart,

Well, I don’t know what to tell you except that if you wanted to keep it a secret, you shouldn’t have told Gramma.  She’s my source.  She gives me all the scoop on the fam. and she’s been dishin’ about you!  Congratulations!!  I am so exceedingly grateful for your news!  What’s even more perfect is that we’ll be up next summer for the reunion so if you guys can make it, I’ll get to meet the little goob!

I have been thinking lately a lot about how we are created and how much individuality we develop spontaneously and without guidance.  Evidence to me of just how unique God makes us each.  This is manifest most obviously in our preferences, our likes and dislikes.

For instance, my kids LOVE the water.  Evie asks for baths multiple times a day and when we pulled out the kiddie pool the other day she just about died and went to heaven.  She tried to climb in with all her clothes on as it was filling up and squealed with delight the entire hour or so we played in it.  Then, when I tried to extricate her from it’s freezing confines due to blue lips and a goose bump body suit, she was none too happy about it.

John also loves the water, but as a vehicle for adventure and action.  He and Josh spent the entire hour that we were out in the little pool doing laps around the yard and using it as a very short slip’n’slide, systematically emptying the pool of a fraction of it’s water and replacing it with grass clippings from their feet with each lap.

Evie has also decided that she loves the sky, leaves and the wind.  She has a long-standing affinity for trains (just like John), loves to watch fish swim, is obsessed with the movies Tangled and Cars 2 (who knows why, exactly) and really gets a kick out of horses.  She will spend quite a bit of time playing by herself with the little peg board she got for Christmas or cooking in the play kitchen or driving matchbox cars around (particularly the Cars characters).  The newest thing is coming over to me while I’m on the computer and signing “bird” until I show her pictures of Big Bird online, then she laughs and claps and squeals… then signs “cracker” until I show her Cookie Monster.

John really adores Legos (much to his father’s delight… and mine, really) along with super heroes and monster trucks.  He also loves to run.  He runs EVERYwhere and if he’s not first in line or in front of everybody, he finds a way to be. I think he’s a born racer… we’ll see.  He is also just getting into video games on his LeapPad and Leapster (he likes the challenge).  

I am having such a good time watching them come into themselves and I sometimes forget that we can only influence them so much when it comes to their likes and dislikes… they are made in a certain, perfect way and I cannot WAIT to see what these interests lead to in their lives as they grow!  

Hope to hear from you soon.

The Epistolarian

P.S. – What are some of your (or your kids’) favorite things? 

2 responses »

  1. When my kids were little, water was one of their favorites, too. Anything outdoors. And I remember when our oldest was about 7, we were fishing down in FL off of a bridge, using shrimp for bait. Apparently he hadn’t realized the shrimp were bait, he thought they were his little pets (the eyes??) and he carefully put a shrimp in his shirt pocket so they could be together throughout the morning… that poor stinky shrimp died and that little boy was devastated!

    • Yup, that sounds about right! That’s hilarious. I love the tender heart most kids have that want nothing more than to nurture any living thing actually smaller than themselves. *snicker* I’m still laughing about that story.

Comment! Please, please, please?...

