A World of Ins[t]anity

Standard

**Like many other opinions I have, I must preface this one with a disclaimer… Due to my location of residence (we don’t exactly get a wide variety of english language books at affordable prices in Costa Rica) we have a Kindle that we share and it serves us well.  With new airline restrictions on luggage and weight, getting affordable paper books down here is no longer, well,  affordable.  Soooo, I have learned to enjoy the Kindle/Kindle App for that reason (reading is more important to me than the paper I do it from).  I also must say, I use my computer daily, I text, I make purchases online and wish we had DVR (all in moderation).  But it in no way changes my opinion, which is to follow.**

ImageWords on a page are slow.  They are one-at-a-time comfortable and dry.  They swoosh with each turn, my tired arms hold them heavily up to my eyes which are begging me to close as I stubbornly press through to the last period of the chapter.  Each chapter has a place, every memorable passage can be flipped to in a moment and re-read to become part of me.  And books smell like my youth. 

It took me months to get that book.  Sure, I ordered it online in a flurry of an instant… but a forced aspect of our lives here is patience.  Patience to wait for a book coming with my mother’s visit or a new trinket that a friend brings down in three months.  Patience to wait in electric anticipation for that special movie over which the general populous in the States is raving, or peacefully enduring the commercial breaks and holding our breath week to week for the showing of a TV program because we don’t have DVR. 

Even the ultimate nine month waiting game has been sped up by ultrasounds and scheduled cesarians… Again, I fully admit to participating in the ultrasound option and couldn’t WAIT to know the sex of my bumpkins.

But that’s the thing, “I couldn’t wait.”  Do I want to be a person who “can’t wait”?  As children we waited for everything… and now we’ve forgotten.  Over the course of our generation we have forgotten it… forgotten how.  And we have lost.  

There is magic to waiting.  It defines anticipation, that electric aura that sparkles in our minds and makes the moment we receive… pleasurable.  Waiting is what makes our hearts soar, our dreams take flight, it buoys our souls.  Without it we are flat.  Waiting fills the world out and plumps our days.  The heft of life happens in between and without that vacant time we are unsurprised and bored, always wanting more entertainment.  Surprise eludes us, the expected reigns.  

So, I am sticking to my guns.  I love a piece of paper to read.  I love that I have to wait for it and find the patience in my soul which discovers the world.  I love a letter, I love a book.  I would not choose my life in an instant, always on-call, because I love it so and it is forever bigger than I am expecting. Every time.

6 responses »

  1. I can relate regarding what it’s like to not just have book shops on tap. When I lived out of Bangkok in the early 1990s, before we had internet shopping, I lived for the long trip to the city, when I could visit English-language book shops and borrow books from the Siam Society library. It was difficult to find reference material I needed for my writing, too. These days, I appreciate each day our wealth of online research material, such as the Australian government’s wonderful Trove website, which has digital archives of 19th-century newspapers.

Comment! Please, please, please?...

